Hello again, and here are some updates on my world!

I have been MIA for a couple months due to my third pregnancy! I’ve been struggling to get through many hard weeks of nausea. Since I’ve been around the block a few times, I would say that I have been handling it a little better this time than with my last two (fairly sure I had undiagnosed hyperemesis gravidarum, which is basically extreme, constant, extended, all day sickness). I’ve had some exceptionally hard weeks and days this time around, but I am now 15 weeks along and feeling a little more hopeful! If my last pregnancies are anything to go by, I should be a lot better off by next month or so. I do apologize for the temporary hiatus, but just getting through the day has taken priority over any of my other side projects and ambitions, including blogging.

Since I have last blogged, I have celebrated my 3rd wedding anniversary, celebrated my youngest daughter’s 1st birthday, and my oldest daughter’s 2nd birthday! Believe it or not, they share 1 month each year where they are both the same year age. The night before Eva, my 2 year olds birthday, I kissed “my little one year olds” goodnight for the last time. Something that not too many people can say they do or have done! So far, life with a 2 year old has been pretty interesting. Eva is now saying small sentences, is gaining a hilarious sense of humor, is communicating her love for her friends and family more than ever (so rewarding), as WELL AS… becoming a little more hostile towards her younger sister at times, getting really close to being able to climb out of the playpen/crib, and throwing more silly fits here and there. With the awesomeness there seems to be some additional challenges, but I think I have always expected this based on what I’ve heard about age 2. My youngest, Lena, is cutting some bigger teeth after a couple months of no teething! She is more expressive and vocal than ever at 13 months old and she is VERY close to walking now! She glides along the couch and lower tables pretty easily and after about 7 months of her famous belly crawl, she finally figured out that it is less work to crawl on her hands and knees. She, too, is so fun to watch grow into the next stages. Her stubborn personality has really been interesting to contend with at times, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Her hair is starting to wave out on the ends where it is getting longer and she is such a snuggly love bug. My children are beautiful, thriving, and little handfuls of love.

And soon, I will have yet another little one to watch grow up! I am due on February 3rd, 2014. I am glad to have a due date that is a few weeks removed from the winter holidays. I was a little nervous about potentially being due around Christmas- I like to have things a little more spaced out, for sanity’s sake! It took a few weeks for me to actually start looking forward to restarting the whole new human being baby thing all over again, but as I carry on and as my children grow out of the baby stages (and as I see more friends and family getting new little bundles too), I am definitely more excited to get a new little love again. The thrill of having a newborn really is so amazing. However, before this can happen, the whooooolllle carrying a baby to around 40 weeks thing has to happen, plus that little thing we like to call the labor and delivery process. And you know, I just don’t think I’m quite ready for that again. Yet. I feel like after 2 un-medicated births in under a year, I’ve kind of proven my capabilities and my point, you know? Like, I did it, and I did it both times pretty well and I feel like I had closure with what went wrong the first time with what went right the second time. And now I have to have another go at it already! I do look forward to an even shorter labor time (17.5 hours the first time, 6 hours the second time) if by God’s grace the trend continues, but I must say, I’m slightly over the whole birthing thing. I’m betting in a few months after a few more pounds in my uterus, I’ll be inviting that glorious, primal, insane day to come quickly, but for now, I’m just going to push it out of my mind and wonder what my third child will be like when he/she arrives.

So these are my latest updates in my life and journey of pregnancy and motherhood. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading up on them. I am still doing monthly contributions on Hybrid Rasta Mama’s blog on the topic of humanity/authentic living, so keep an eye out for those. And I promise the next blog update you get from me will be sooner than this one was from the last.

 CarasFinalSigCaraJean

Leave a Reply

